Upcoming Talks


All talks are presented via Zoom on Tuesdays at noon EST/5PM UK/7PM Turkey (unless otherwise noted)

FALL 2024

Tuesday, August 20, 2024
Caroline Angle Maguire (University of Maryland, College Park)
Ashley Miller (University of Michigan Museum of Art)
Elizabeth Rauh (American University of Cairo)
A Roundtable Discussion:
Exhibiting MENA Cultural Heritage: Post-colonial Interventions

Tuesday, September 3, 2024
Özlem Yıldız (Temple University)
Bringing the Heavenly Down to Earth: Nature, Bodies, and Objects as Symbols of the Divine in the Illustrated Qisas al-Anbiya Manuscripts from the Sixteenth-Century

Tuesday, September 17, 204
[Please note this talk will be one hour earlier than usual, at 11:00 am NYC]
Muhammad Hadi bin Osni (Community Researcher, My Community Limited)
Positioning Singapore’s Early Modernist Mosques in Southeast Asia Architectural History (1977-1981)

Tuesday, October 1, 2024
Heba Mostafa (University of Toronto)
Architecture of Anxiety: Body Politics and the Formation of Islamic Architecture

Tuesday, October 15, 2024
Cailah Jackson (Independent Scholar)
Mevlevi Manuscript Culture in the Late Medieval Period

Tuesday, October 29, 2024
Mahnam Najafi (Shahid Beheshti University)
The Evolution of Squares in Qajar Tehran: A Study of Urban and Social Changes

Tuesday, November 5, 2024
Sinem Casale (University of Minnesota, Twin Cities)
Gifts in the Age of Empire: Ottoman-Safavid Cultural Exchange, 1500-1639

Tuesday, November 19, 2024
Amber Elisabeth Peters (Ca’Foscari University)
The Ocean in Early-Modern South Asian Art

Tuesday, December 3, 2024
Ahmad Rafiei (Toledo Museum of Art)
Beyond Allegory to Prosody: Unraveling Reza Abbasi’s Artistic Odyssey Through Yul Quli Beg’s Influence


css.php